Google Is Shutting Down Google+ After Data Security Breach

Google+ is getting the boots from Google after a vulnerability that affects about  500,000 users. This was reveal in a blog post by Google about  Project Strobe.

Project Strobe actually started last year and is bearing fruits already. It is “a root-and-branch review of third-party developer access to Google account and Android device data. The project allow Google to be able to access operation of privacy controls on platforms were users are not engaging Google API.

You May Like : Google Chrome 69 have Arrived With Great Features

Google+ Suffered Data Security Breach

Google Shut Down Google+

Google Plus Logo

The Google+ lapses was discovered when Google through the Project Strobe which audit third-party developer access. This involves access to Google account and Android device data. The personal data of hundreds of thousands of Google+ users may have been exposed on the site between 2015 and March 2018. However, Google claims that it does not believe that data from its users were misused as part of the glitch.

Read Also : What is Android Go And Why You Should Care?

The flaw was first published in a Wall Street Journal before Google decided to make it public in the blog post mentioned above.

“We made Google+ with privacy in mind and therefore keep this API’s log data for only two weeks,” Google revealed in a blog post after the Wall Street Journal reported the flaw. “That means we cannot confirm which users were impacted by this bug. However, we ran a detailed analysis over the two weeks prior to patching the bug, and from that analysis, the Profiles of up to 500,000 Google+ accounts were potentially affected. Our analysis showed that up to 438 applications may have used this API.”

MORE : Google’s 20th Anniversary : Here Comes Some New Features.

Problem Solved

Google claimed that after the bug was discovered, it was quickly patched and that it was not aware of any abuse.

“We discovered and immediately patched this bug in March 2018. We believe it occurred after launch as a result of the API’s interaction with a subsequent Google+ code change”.

 

Leave a Reply